Sunday, 30 November 2014

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Title: Prisoner of Night and Fog
Author: Anne Blankman
Publisher: Headline
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository
In 1930s Munich, danger lurks behind dark corners, and secrets are buried deep within the city. But Gretchen Müller, who grew up in the National Socialist Party under the wing of her "uncle" Dolf, has been shielded from that side of society ever since her father traded his life for Dolf's, and Gretchen is his favorite, his pet.Uncle Dolf is none other than Adolf Hitler. And Gretchen follows his every command.Until she meets a fearless and handsome young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen. Gretchen should despise Daniel, yet she can't stop herself from listening to his story: that her father, the adored Nazi martyr, was actually murdered by an unknown comrade. She also can't help the fierce attraction brewing between them, despite everything she's been taught to believe about Jews.As Gretchen investigates the very people she's always considered friends, she must decide where her loyalties lie. Will she choose the safety of her former life as a Nazi darling, or will she dare to dig up the truth—even if it could get her and Daniel killed?

Prisoner of Night and Fog was a read that is really hard for me to review and sum up my feelings for. That always seems to be the case when it comes to books that I'm unsure about. You know the books, the ones that you didn't loathe or love. They're the middle ground books, the 3/5 reads that leave you feeling like you don't have a lot to say about them. Prisoner of Night and Fog is one of those books, and I'm really struggling to review it.

It's a book that had aspects that I enjoyed, but it definitely didn't wow me or grab my attention the way I wanted it to. It didn't leave an impression with me, I forgot about it the instant I put the book down. I can already say that I won't be continuing the series. It's not a terrible book, there was a lot about it that really interested me. But it left me with the feeling that I wanted to go pick up a history book, not add the sequel to my TBR.

This is a historical fiction story set in Germany during the 1930s, and in this we are seeing Hitler during his rise to power. Gretchen has known Hitler her whole life, he's Uncle Dolf to her, the man her father died trying to protect. He's been a constant presence in her life and she adores him. To her he is a good man. That is until she meets Daniel Cohen, a Jewish reporter who believes that her father didn't die protecting Hitler, but was murdered by a member of the National Socialist Party. Gretchen agrees to work with him to uncover the truth, despite the fact he is Jewish and she has always been taught that the Jews are subhuman. I've always been fascinated with Nazi Germany, I took History at college and that was always my favourite subject to study. It's a very important part of history, there's a reason why you get taught about it over and over again, year after year. So that whole aspect of this series really appealed to me, especially because of how much of it is based on fact and real events that happened.

As I've mentioned previously, there were things I liked about the book and things that didn't really work for me. I'm becoming rather fond of lists so let's get to it.

What I Liked

The history: It's such an important and fascinating part of history. This is a work of fiction, but contains a lot of historical fact and events that happened. It's also about Hitler during his rise to power, which we don't see much of. The historical fiction is usually set during WWII, so I did like the fact this concentrates more on how Hitler came to power. 

Gretchen: She goes through a large amount of character growth during this book and who doesn't love that. She decides to do what she thinks is right, even when she's scared of what the consequences for that might be. She's a strong character and I liked that she was willing to stand up for what she believed in.

Gretchen and Daniel: Someone who's been raised to hate Jews and  a Jewish reporter falling in love, what's not to like. Yes, these two could be quite cute. 


What I Disliked
All the psychopaths: There are multiple psychopaths in this book, I was starting to feel like maybe all the Germans were going to turn out to be psycho. This is probably a more personal thing though because I don't agree with the analysis that Hitler was a psychopath. There have been those who argued he is and those who argued he isn't. But there are many things about him that would argue that he isn't and I agree with that side of the argument. People, completely sane people, can do the most disgusting and horrific things. I liked that Gretchen herself questioned whether he was a psychopath and didn't just immediately agree with the diagnosis.

The comical baddie: Hitler isn't the main bad guy in this book, believe it or not. It's actually Gretchen's brother Reinhard, who she's very afraid of. She was afraid, I wasn't. He was such a comical bad guy. It was like someone had tried to draw a caricature of some evil Nazi, who likes to beat Jews, play cruel tricks on his sister and kill small animals. I mean... really. I found him absolutely comical, it was like he was too bad

Gretchen: Yes, you read that right, the girl makes both lists. I thought she was a strong heroine at times, but there were also times where she frustrated me. She had such hate and fear for her brother, but so much love for her father. Her father who used to beat her brother, he'd literally beat him with his fists because he felt there was something wrong with him. Why does she idolise that guy again?

Gretchen and Daniel: They make both lists too. Yes they could be quite cute, but I didn't really care about the romance. It's obvious it will eventually happen but they both change their minds about each other far too quickly.

Doesn't go deep enough: I just didn't feel like it went deep enough for me, but that might be coming in later books. We concentrate to much on the comical baddie and the murder mystery aspect, which didn't interest me very much. I just wanted it to go a little deeper, for Gretchen to go a little deeper. We see a lot of the higher level people within the National Socialist Party and the things they do, but I wanted to see more of the German civilians during that time.



3/5 Butterflies

This is an okay read, but it didn't leave a lasting impression or a desire to read the next book. There were a few things I enjoyed, but felt there was so much that could have been improved on. I really liked seeing the rise of Hitler, and how much Gretchen changes over the course of the book. But I felt like we barely scratch the surface on some really important issues and parts of history. Hopefully they look into it more during the next book, but I won't be reading it and so I won't know. The pacing wasn't too great either, there was a lot of times when I was zoning out because not much was really happening.



*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Saturday, 29 November 2014

My Weekly Book Haul: 29/11/2014

STSmall

Friday Finds is something that was started over on ShouldBeReading and Stacking the Shelves over at TyngaReviews, I am in love with all of these as I love finding other blogs to follow and books to read through these! So check them all out and see what you find, Stacking the Shelves has a lot of participants as well which is great. This is basically a way for me to show what books I have received, borrowed or bought each week. All book covers and their summary come from back of book or Goodreads.


I don't even know!
That basically sums up my week. Not much of anything actually happened. I haven't been reading much because I've worked every day. I'm also ill and have 0 energy, which means that when I'm not working I'm laying in bed, hating life and generally being a miserable bitch.
I've not been buying many books because I'm waiting for Christmas. All the books I really want are on lists I gave to the boyfriend and parents. So I've got a bit of a wait before I know what books they decided on. For now I'm just buying random ones I see when I'm out that I think look interesting.
My family and I are all going to the Harry Potter tour on the 27th December, and my sisters and I are all dragging along our significant others. There's 8 of us going and I can't wait. In preparation I bought myself a robe, but they only had Gryffindor in my size and I'm technically a Ravenclaw. But oh well. I've also bought my sisters one each for Christmas, because then our significant others will all be super embarrassed to be seen with us.

The Truth about Forever
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
Sixteen-year-old Macy Queen is looking forward to a long, boring summer. Her boyfriend is going away. She's stuck with a dull-as-dishwater job at the library. And she'll spend all of her free time studying for the SATs or grieving silently with her mother over her father's recent unexpected death. But everything changes when Macy is corralled into helping out at one of her mother's open house events, and she meets the chaotic Wish Catering crew. Before long, Macy joins the Wish team. She loves everything about, the work and the people. But the best thing about Wish is Wes—artistic, insightful, and understanding Wes—who gets Macy to look at life in a whole new way, and really start living it.
I saw this in one of my local charity shops for £1, thought I'd give it a try as I hear amazing things about the author.

Exodus (Exodus, #1)
Exodus by Julie Bertagna 
Mara's island home is drowning as the ice caps melt and Earth loses its land to the ocean. But one night, in the ruined virtual world of the Weave, Mara meets the mysterious Fox a fiery-eyed boy who tells her of sky cities that rise from the sea.Mara sets sail on a daring journey to find a new life for herself and her friends - instead she discovers a love that threatens to tear her apart...

Another charity shop find, thought it looked quite interesting.


Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1) Untold (The Lynburn Legacy, #2) Unmade (The Lynburn Legacy, #3)
Unspoken, Untold & Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
Kami Glass loves someone she's never met... a boy she's talked to in her head ever since she was born. Having an imaginary friend has made fitting in hard - but that's never bothered Kami. She has her best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is just the way she likes it.But all that changes when the mysterious Lynburn family return to Kami's village, along with teenagers, Jared and Ash, one of whom is eerily familiar to Kami...As life as she knows it begins to unravel, Kami is determined to get to the bottom of every mystery. Who is responsible for the bloody deeds in the depths of the woods? What is her own mother hiding? And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy, does she still love him?And can she trust him?

Have heard such good things about this series! 

Opal (Lux, #3) Origin (Lux, #4) Opposition (Lux, #5)
Opal, Origin & Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.
Determined to catch up on this series .


They say you know instinctively who to trust.Alice is normal; she'd never do anything rash. But when she sees her husband one day with a younger girl, she knows at once that he's having an affair. And it must be stopped.Vic loves her friend Michael, more than he knows. He wants happiness, and thinks he's found it with the magnetic Estella. But Vic feels sure she can't be trusted - and she needs to make Michael see that too. They don't know Kaya; her life is tougher than they can imagine. But Kaya's a survivor, and she's determined to find a way out of her miserable world. Three women, three lives that come crashing together in this dark, lyrical and utterly enthralling story of warped perceptions, female intuition and 'the other woman'.
Thank you to Tinder Press for this one.

There Will Be LiesThere Will Be Lies by Nick Lake
In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car.Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon.All Shelby knows is that they’re running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past—and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what’s real, what isn’t, and who she can trust . . . if anybody.Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning.

I got a random, unexpected package from Bloomsbury, which contained this one. Plus a packet of Angel Delight ice cream mix and a moose keyring. 


How to Win at High School
How to Win at High School by Owen Matthews

Using Scarface as his guide to life, Adam Higgs is going from zero to high school hero.Adam Higgs is a loser, and he’s not okay with it. But starting as a junior in a new high school seems like exactly the right time to change things. He brainstorms with his best friend, Brian: What will it take for him to take over Nixon Collegiate? Adam searches for the A-listers’ weak spot and strikes gold when he gets queen bee Sara Bryant to pay him for doing her physics homework. One part nerd, two parts badass, Adam ditches his legit job and turns to full-time cheating. His clients? All the Nixon Collegiate gods and goddesses.But soon his homework business becomes a booze business, which becomes a fake ID business. Adam’s popularity soars as he unlocks high school achievements left and right, from his first kiss to his first rebound hookup. But something else is haunting him—a dark memory from his past, driving him to keep climbing. What is it? And will he go too far?How to Win at High School’s honest portrayal of high school hierarchy is paired with an adrenaline-charged narrative and an over-the-top story line, creating a book that will appeal to guys, girls, and reluctant readers of every stripe. Adam’s rocket ride to the top of the social order and subsequent flameout is both emotionally resonant and laugh-out-loud funny.

Playlist for the DeadPlaylist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

A teenage boy tries to understand his best friend's suicide by listening to the playlist of songs he left behind in this smart, voice-driven debut novel.Here's what Sam knows: There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, his best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs, and a suicide note: For Sam—listen and you'll understand.As he listens to song after song, Sam tries to face up to what happened the night Hayden killed himself. But it's only by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he will finally be able to piece together his best friend’s story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Tim Tharp’s The Spectacular NowPlaylist for the Dead is an honest and gut-wrenching first novel about loss, rage, what it feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you—and the struggle to redefine yourself. But above all, it's about finding hope when hope seems like the hardest thing to find.

Lies I ToldLies I Told by Michelle Zink

What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told yourself?Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. But it’s all a lie.Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines' biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught...including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.




Book Blogger Problems #2: Co-Blogging or Going Solo?
Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Cover Changes
Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker
Book Blogger Problems #3: Hardback vs Paperback
Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Love, Rosie 

Thursday, 27 November 2014

Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Love, Rosie


This is a weekly meme that I am hosting here at Reviews from a Bookworm. To take part all you have to do is share a movie review once a week, link back to Reviews from a Bookworm and add your link to the linky tool.


This weeks movie review will be for:


Love, Rosie

I posted my review for Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern yesterday, and it's fair to say that it was less than glowing. I didn't enjoy the book at all and didn't really see why so many people think it's a romantic story. I couldn't really find even two positive things to comment on about it, I'm not even sure I found one. The book was something I wanted to pick up and throw out my window, never to be seen again. But, and it's an important but, I still wanted to see the movie despite how much I hated the book. The movie looked like it had a lot of potential, it felt like it could be another Maze Runner for me. The books are huge disappointments, but they change so much for the movie adaptation that it actually makes a brilliant film. Thankfully that was the case with Love, Rosie.

Wednesday, 26 November 2014

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern: Review

Title: Love, Rosie
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publisher: Harper Collins
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository

Best friends since forever, Alex and Rosie have shared their hopes, dreams - and firsts. But one awkward moment at eighteen, one missed opportunity, and life sends them hurtling in different directions. Although they stay in touch, misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck seem to be conspiring to keep them apart. Can they gamble everything - even their friendship - on true love? 

Love, Rosie was originally published under the title Where Rainbows End, but I could only find the movie tie in edition. I'd decided to pick this book up because I'd seen the trailer for the film and really wanted to see it. I'm one of those people who always feels the need to read the book first, so when I saw it on special I decided to take a chance. I had hopes that the book would be as funny and romantic as the trailer looked. Unfortunately it ended up being a reading experience that was similar to The Maze Runner for me. It wasn't what I was expecting at all and worked to put me off seeing the film. But, from what I'd seen from the trailer, it looked like they wouldn't be sticking too close to the story in the book.

I didn't realise before buying the book but, the book is told entirely through letters, notes, emails and instant messages between the characters. That was surprising and took a long time for me to get used to. It's used so that they can quickly summarise events and span a long period of time. The problem with that format is that everything needs to be explained in these letters. It's all telling and no showing, which never works well for me. It also means that the letters never come across as sounding authentic, they don't read like something you would actually write to someone. That format also makes it hard for me to connect to the characters or feel like I ever come to really know them or how they are feeling.

Monday, 24 November 2014

Book Blogger Problems #3: Paperback vs Hardback




The Hardback vs Paperback debate is one that is talked about a lot. It's probably talked about too much, but I've wanted to do a discussion on it for a while now. I like being able to give my opinion on it, but to also see what everyone else thinks.

I prefer paperbacks.


Shock horror! It seems like such a silly thing to do a discussion about, but it's a decision that a lot of people take seriously. Most people have a preference, because one or the other works for them better. Paperbacks will win for me every time. Not because I don't like hardbacks, but paperbacks are just easier for me. That's not to say I don't like hardbacks, I love them. They're just so pretty!

Now, I'm going to discuss why and in handy list form! 


1. They're cheaper.

I could probably stop after that reason really. Why would I want to pay more for something if I don't have to. The only difference between my hardbacks and paperbacks are their size and how sturdy they are. The contents are the same. I'm getting the exact same story, I'm just paying less for it. It always hurts me to have to pay out more for the hardback because the publishers won't release the paperback for another six months or so. 

You want me to pay more for something I can get a lot cheaper in paperback...
 

2. They take up less space on my shelf.

This doesn't seem to be the case with US paperbacks, they're HUGE! Why are the paperbacks so massive? I like the standard size you get because then you're books are all the same height. Yes, I hate when my books are different heights because I'm that OCD. But the size issue is a big deal when it comes to hardbacks. They don't fit upright on all of my shelves. They take up much needed space. When you've got almost 700 books you need all the space you can get. If every book I owned was a hardback then I'm pretty sure my shelves would have collapsed by now.


3. Easier to read.

This may not be the case for a lot of people, but I find hardbacks difficult to read. They're just so big and heavy. And the words seem so spread out across the page. I'm used to it all being squidged inside a tiny paperback. And also, if you didn't know, I'm only 5ft and 0.1 of an inch tall (that 0.1 inch matters!), and my hands are the size of a small childs. They don't do well with hardbacks! I am tempted to share a picture of my tiny baby hands trying to hold a hardback so you can understand my suffering. 

4. They're smaller and weigh less.

The pain is real.
This is vitally important to me. I usually always have a book on me. That means it needs to fit into my bag and not weigh a ton. As I've said, I'm really tiny and I have the upper body strength of a toddler. I don't want to be carrying around a heavy hardback in my bag all day. And, what's more, it wouldn't really fit in my bag either. I need a nice small paperback.



I prefer paperbacks because they are easier for me to read. I have tiny baby hands and hardbacks just feel way too big when I'm holding them. I also take a book to work with me everyday, so I don't like having to lug around a huge, heavy hardback. There are many reasons why I love hardbacks, mostly just how pretty they are to look at. I mostly think about how much space hardbacks would take up. I'm going to have to move eventually and I can't even imagine how much hassle that would be if all 650 of my books were hardbacks. 



What do you prefer, hardbacks or paperbacks? Do you think about space when you decide on what to buy? What do you own more of?



Sunday, 23 November 2014

Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker: Review

Title: Beware the Wild
Author: Natalie C. Parker
Publisher: HarperTeen
Buy this book: Amazon

It's an oppressively hot and sticky morning in June when Sterling and her brother, Phin, have an argument that compels him to run into the town swamp -- the one that strikes fear in all the residents of Sticks, Louisiana. Phin doesn't return. Instead, a girl named Lenora May climbs out, and now Sterling is the only person in Sticks who remembers her brother ever existed.Sterling needs to figure out what the swamp's done with her beloved brother and how Lenora May is connected to his disappearance -- and loner boy Heath Durham might be the only one who can help her.This debut novel is full of atmosphere, twists and turns, and a swoon-worthy romance. 
I have to be honest and say that the first thing that made me want to read this book was the cover. I have so much love for the cover, I'd buy the book just so I could have that on my shelf. But I was definitely sold on the book the minute I read the summary, it sounded like the perfect creepy read, and I liked the idea of the Louisiana swamp setting. Beware the Wild delivered on being a quick, enjoyable and entertaining read. I had my issues with it, but it was an enjoyable book nonetheless.

Sterling Saucier has lived her whole life in Sticks, a small town that has always been fearful of the swamp and the stories surrounding it. They've built fences to surround it and no one enters it, because those that do don't come back. After a fight with Sterling, her brother Phin  jumps the fence and disappears into the swamp. Sterling watches and waits for her brother to return, but instead she sees a girl appear from the swamp and walk into her house. No one remembers her brother, instead they believe that Lenora May is her sister. Even Sterling herself has memories of growing up with Lenora May, but she can also remember her brother, even if nobody else can. The only person who will believe Sterling is Heath Durham, someone who says he lost his best friend to the swamp and he's the only person who remembers. Together they are determined to figure out the secrets of the swamp, who Lenora May really is and what they must do to get back what the swamp has taken.


Clearly proof that swamps are evil!
The beginning of this story was so good, I was so impressed and completely hooked. The moment Lenora appears from the swamp and goes walking into Sterling's house like she owned the place, it was the perfect moment. It was creepy and I couldn't wait to continue reading to see where the story was going to go. I was a little disappointed with the story once we reached the halfway mark, there was a little twist to the story that was easy to see coming. The story didn't keep the creepy atmosphere that I felt at the beginning of it.  It was good and the end concludes the story, it just didn't blow me away or end in that big bang style climax that I was hoping for. I was really hoping the creepy swamp element would work for me, I've not been a fan of swamps since that scene in The Neverending Story! *cries*

Sterling is a character that I am still unsure as to whether I like or not. The one thing I did appreciate about her character was the way her eating disorder was handled. Sterling hasn't really been eating since she found out her brother is going to be leaving and attending college. She knows what she's doing, but no matter how much people tell her to eat, she can't. She's lost weight, but she doesn't feel hungry and she doesn't worry about food. I liked the fact that it's shown that an eating disorder isn't always about being thin. That t's made clear that that's never been Sterling's goal. Her eating disorder is something that's caused by stress and the feeling of having something you can actually control. I liked that that's made clear in this.

There's a romance in this, but it never takes over the story. I thought the romance was cute enough, and I really liked Heath's character. I really did appreciate the fact that the romance is never the important thing on either characters mind. They both realise that there are far more important things to worry about given their current situation. Another character that I really loved was Sterling's best friend, Candy, because she really made me laugh. She brought a lot more fun to the story.


3/5 Butterflies

I enjoyed this story, but it didn't blow me away. It wasn't as creepy as I thought it was going to be. Lenora May was a character that wasn't what I was hoping for, that left me quite disappointed. This book had a brilliant start but it went a bit messy by the halfway point. I enjoyed it, everything about it is good but it just isn't what I was hoping for. The book is very fast-paced and the writing worked to make me unable to put it down, so I read it in one sitting. It's a story that I would recommend because even though it wasn't exactly what I was hoping for, it was still a good read. It has the added bonus of being a standalone!



*I received a copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for a free and honest review and received no monetary compensation for this review.


Saturday, 22 November 2014

My Weekly Book Haul: 22/11/2014

STSmall

Friday Finds is something that was started over on ShouldBeReading and Stacking the Shelves over at TyngaReviews, I am in love with all of these as I love finding other blogs to follow and books to read through these! So check them all out and see what you find, Stacking the Shelves has a lot of participants as well which is great. This is basically a way for me to show what books I have received, borrowed or bought each week. All book covers and their summary come from back of book or Goodreads.


I took two weeks off from the blog because my every day life was getting in the way. It has a habit of doing that. If only I could sit at home all day and just read books and blog. But apparently I have to do this thing called 'work', so I can pay bills and buy Christmas presents. Le sigh.
               I've actually really missed blogging and it feels nice to finally be back. I spent a lot of my time away at work, or with family, or reading. And then spent most nights until the early hours of the morning watching The Blacklist, which I am now addicted to. It's AMAZING!




It's quite good to be known as the girl who loves reading. It means that people you barely know will gift you books for no apparent reason. This week some kind person bought these beauties in for me at work. 

Switched (Trylle Trilogy, #1) Torn (The Trylle Trilogy, #2) Ascend (Trylle, #3)
Switched, Torn and Ascend by Amanda Hocking
Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth. Although certain she's not the monster her mother claimed she is, she does feel that she doesn't quite fit in. The new girl in High School, Wendy is bored and frustrated by her small-town life -- and then there's her secret, her mysterious ability -- she can influence people's decisions, without knowing how, or why ...When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night, her world is turned upside down. He holds the key to her past, the answers to her strange powers and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist: Forening, the home of the Trylle. Among the Trylle she is not just different, but special. But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger. With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust. But dark forces are conspiring -- not only to separate them, but to see the downfall of everything that Wendy cares about...
I actually already own this trilogy, so I'm trying to work out what to do with the spare set.