Saturday, 28 February 2015

My Weekly Recap: 28/02/2015


I've been really happy with this week as I feel like I've actually managed to accomplish quite a lot, for once. I've not only been working a lot, I've also managed to get 4 posts up since last weeks recap, 5 including this one. Whilst also trying to go visit as many bloggers as possible. But I'm still working on that aspect of it, so if you're a fellow blogger feel free to leave a link below so I can come check it out!

Not only do I feel like I am getting back on top of the blog, but I'm also making progress in other aspects. My notice has been handed in at my current job, my last official day being the 26th March. I start my new job on the 30th March, but get 12 days off inbetween to relax, prepare and do whatever the hell I want. I've also bought myself a new hoover, a new toaster, a wonderful computer chair and a shredder. At 23, I'm suddenly starting to feel like a grown up when my money goes on hoovers instead of books!

I've realised my book buying had got a bit out of control recently. Since Christmas, I think I have acquired over 150 new books. But I've literally only read 14 so far this year. I already have three bookshelves fully packed, and I mean PACKED. I have a row of books at the front of each shelf, then 3 columns of books are stacked behind those. So I'm trying to be better and order less books. I'm not on a ban exactly, I'm just trying to think carefully about whether I really need a book or not before I buy it. I did get to reorganise my shelves though and I LOVE them.


This is just some of what I have been getting up to over on Instagram. I'll be showing off my reorganised shelves on there as well. Plus I've got a giveaway coming up soon!



I'm linking up with Tynga's Stacking the Shelves and the Caffeinated Book Reviewers The Sunday Post.

Friday, 27 February 2015

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Unleashed (Uninvited, #2)Title: Unleashed (Uninvited #2)
Author: Sophie Jordan
Publisher: Harper Teen
Buy this book: Amazon (US) / Amazon (UK) / Book Depository
Davy has spent the last few months trying to convince herself that even though she tested positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS), she wasn't the murderer everyone saw her as. But they may have been right about her all along. Because now Davy has killed.    On the run from a brutal military training camp for HTS carriers, Davy meets a band of rebels led by the charismatic Caden. He encourages Davy to join his group and fight for carriers, but as Davy struggles to trust Caden's violent world and her growing feelings for him-she also questions her own potential for violence, which could be lying dormant just below the surface. But if she doesn't belong with Caden and his followers, is there anywhere she can call home? 
When I saw Caden in the blurb and not Sean.
I know quite a few people didn't enjoy book one in this series, Uninvited, but I absolutely loved it. Most people weren't happy that there wasn't an explanation provided about the HTS gene and how that is even supposed to work. But I'm the girl who enjoys superhero movies, if I was going to sit there and question the actual science behind them then I wouldn't enjoy them half as much. Sometimes you just have to enjoy the story for what it is, a piece of fiction. My review for Uninvited was really glowing, I was completely won over by all of the action, but also by the romance between Davy and Sean. So imagine my surprise when the plot summary for book two doesn't even mention Sean once. I was not happy with that and I became very nervous to start this book, especially with the mention of a new male character, I began to worry that this was going to turn into another horrid love triangle book and I was not looking forward to it.

I wish that I was able to say that I enjoyed Unleashed just as much as I did Uninvited, but I would most definitely be lying. I was so disappointed by this book and part of me really wishes that I hadn't read it and had just made up my own conclusion to this duology. We come into the story right where book one left off, Davy and the others have managed to escape the training camp and are about to make the crossing into Mexico. It's painfully obvious from the blurb that she's not going to be sticking with these guys for too long, and that happens by about page 70. Davy finds herself in trouble and is rescued by a guy who just happens to be part of a resistance cell and is going to go out of his way to save her from everything.

When I realise a books going to be ALL romance.
What I really liked about book one was the fact that the romance in it wasn't the main focus. I've said time and time again that I don't mind romance in my reads, as long as that romance only takes up a small part of the plot. Uninvited did this well, the romance was there but it was more of a slow build and wasn't the focus of the story. I liked that I couldn't put the book down because it had a lot of action to it. As Unleashed was the concluding book to the series, I assumed it would be packed full of action and I'd be reading into the early hours of the morning, unable to put the book down. I couldn't have been more wrong, this book became all about the romance. What makes that a million times more frustrating is the fact it's a completely new romance to book one. Maybe some authors can pull of introducing an entirely new love interest and get you to suddenly root for them, but this did not work here.

I liked Davy in book one, by the end she was becoming strong and didn't constantly need Sean to keep jumping in and rescuing her. I didn't like that we suddenly have a new guy show up who feels the need to constantly jump in and save her. You'd also think that being part of the group that's trying to take down the Wainwright Agency that Davy would get to play some role in this. She doesn't. Everything happens without her because she's too busy having yet another romance storyline with a guy I don't really care for. I was hoping for action, suspense and twists and turns, what I got was romance and melodrama.

2/5 Butterflies

I can't even begin to express just how disappointed I was with this conclusion. It had zero of what I was hoping for and just ended up making me really annoyed. Book one was really good, it was one of my favourite reads last year, and there's nothing more disappointing then when the conclusion to a series doesn't live up to your expectations. I received this book filled with excitement, so sure that I was going to absolutely love it. But, quite honestly, my feelings can be summed up in one gif:


Yay, this is going to be epic. Lets get my celebratory cake ready! Wait.... what? What? Ehhhhh, f*ck this sh*t.


*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a free and honest review.

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: My Favourite Heroines From Books/Movies/TV

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke & The Bookish.

This weeks topic is:

My favourite heroines from books/movies/TV.

Yay! Time to give some of the most awesome women some major love. I have no idea how I am supposed to pick only ten, that seems impossible to me. I am going to try my hardest to not go too crazy with this list, but you should probably know by now that I am not very good at restraining myself.


hp animated GIF Hermione Granger

Hermione will probably always find herself at the top of my list because I think she's such a wonderful heroine. She's a total bookworm, which I can obviously relate to, plus she's smart, loyal and brave. She's also a brilliant friend to Ron and Harry and they probably wouldn't have gotten much done without her, something even they can acknowledge. She's a character that grows so much but is always true to herself, I always loved that about her. Her greatest moments for me are probably when she wipes her parents memories in order to protect them. And also when she refuses to abandon Harry, even when others do. 

Mrs Weasley

I have to give Mrs Weasley her own spot on this list because that woman is incredible! I can't really sum up just how much I love Mrs Weasley. Her greatest moment for me will always be the 'Not my daughter, you bitch!' moment because it's possibly one of the greatest book moments of all time. Mrs Weasley is one of my favourite heroines because she's a genuinely nice person, she makes Harry and Hermione a part of her family. She also loves her family so much, even when certain members (*cough* Percy!) aren't acting in a way that's worthy of it. I have so much respect for her as a character, the woman who just wanted to protect the ones she loved, whilst knowing that they needed to make a stand and fight. Bravo, Molly, bravo!


Luna Lovegood, Nymphadora Tonks & Ginny Weasley

Luna is an obvious choice, if you can't figure out why she makes the list then you've clearly never read the books. Tonks won me over the moment she appeared in the series and I know there will never be a time when she won't be one of my favourite heroines. I'm a fan of the brave women who put themselves in danger for the greater good. I'm probably a fan of them because they're a million times braver than me. I really like Ginny Weasley... IN THE BOOK. They ruined her in the movie for a many number of reasons, but the biggest one was poor casting. It's hard to get it right when you're casting so young, not knowing what will be expected of the characters later on. 

Celaena Sardothien 

If you have seen my flailing, fangirling reviews of any of the Throne of Glass books then you'll already know that I adore Celaena Sardothien. She is one of my all time favourite heroines. She could kick my ass, and I respect that, whilst also being way more girly than I could ever hope to be. She is also a lover of food and books, that girls got the greatest taste in all things - including guards! If I could pick one word to describe her then it would be strong, something she shows again and again throughout the series.
Arya Stark

I can't comment too much on book Arya, because so far I have only read book 1 in the series, but I am up to date on the TV show. I was always going to connect with and root for Arya, the girl who's a total tomboy at heart. I was such a tomboy as a child, I'd be the one wanting to learn to fight with swords if all the boys got to. She also has the strength to carry on and keep going, even when she loses some of the most important people in her life. 

Daenerys Targaryen

The woman has dragons.... DRAGONS?!? I'm sorry, but how could I not love the mother of dragons. I love her. Yes, my love is based entirely on the TV show but I don't care. I'm scared to see what becomes of this character as the series goes on, the ending to season 4 broke my little dragon loving heart a little bit. 

Lyra Belacqua

I still have so much love and respect for Lyra. I'm pretty sure if I have have a girl then she will be named after this wonderful character. She starts out as this, at times rather irritating, little girl and develops so much over the course of the series. She was one of my favourite characters as a little girl and she still comes to mind whenever anyone asks me about my favourite book heroines. 

Mulan, Merida & Belle

One of the few things I love as much as Harry Potter are Disney movies. How could I list my favourite heroines and not include a few Disney characters? I could probably list 20 of my favourites, but I'm going to be good and only name three. I pick Mulan because she goes to war in order to protect her father. I pick Merida because she wouldn't allow someone to tell her who she should marry or how she should act. I pick Belle because of her love of books, and that she tells Gaston where to go. 
Debra Morgan

I own every series of Dexter on DVD, except for the final season - I just continue to pretend that it never happened. Debra has always been my favourite character from that show, even more than Dexter. I love her entire personality, especially the part of her that can't seem to stop swearing. I like to swear, I do it frequently, so it's nice to find a kindred spirit in Debs in that regard. 




My Weekly Book Haul: 14/02/15
Invaded by Melissa Landers
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Big Hero 6
My Weekly Recap: 21/02/2015
Never Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher



I've got a UK only and an international giveaway on the blog at the minute - both are for copies of The Sin Eater's Daughter by Melissa Landers. For more details and to enter go here


Monday, 23 February 2015

The Taylor Swift Book Tag

Time for a book tag! WOOOOOOOO!
I am trying to be a good blogger and get back in to some kind of schedule. I've been having a lot of problems with blogging recently, I've gotten so behind on everything. I'm going to try and post at least four times a week now! That's my goal and I really hope to stick to it. Wish me luck everyone!

I absolutely love doing book tags, so today I am going to be doing the Taylor Swift book tag. I remember watching Christina do this over at Polandbananasbooks and thought it seemed like a fun tag to do. So let's do this!

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
A book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then you wanted to break up with.

This has to be the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I read Divergent and really enjoyed it, I had such high hopes for the series. But Insurgent just wasn't anywhere near as good and disappointed me. I was hoping Allegiant might be able to rescue the series, but turned out to be one of the worst books I've ever had the displeasure of reading. 

2. Red
Pick a book with a RED cover.

I did this over on my Instagram with a few different books. I absolutely love the cover for The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.


3. The Best Day
Pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic.

I'm going to be a good girl and not answer Harry Potter for this question! I'm going to go with The Sight by David Clement-Davies. It's a book I first read when I was probably 10 or 11. I can still remember finding that book whilst in a bookshop with my family. They were hunting for college books for my sister, so I sat in a corner and just read and read. Thankfully my parents bought it for me so I could finish it, and I happily reread that now.

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Never Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

Never Never (Never Never, #1)Title: Never Never
Author: Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository 
Charlize Wynwood and Silas Nash have been best friends since before they could walk. They've been in love since the age of fourteen.But as of this morning... they are complete strangers. Their first kiss, their first fight, the moment they fell in love... every memory has vanished. Charlize and Silas must work together to uncover the truth about what happened to them and why. But the more they learn about the couple they used to be... the more they question why they were ever together to begin with. 
There have been a lot of books that I have found quite difficult to review, but those books were nothing compared to Never Never. It's hard to review something that isn't even a complete book, just part one in a serial that I have no idea how many more volumes are coming. But it's also hard to review something when you actually have no idea how you feel about the book. My opinion on this can be changed drastically if there isn't any good explanation for the memory loss they both suffer.

Charlie and Silas both find themselves in school, with absolutely no memory of who they are or why they are there. They don't remember each other, or the fact they have been dating for four years. They work together to try and find out why this has happened to them. But the more they find out about themselves and who they were as a couple, the more they begin to question everything. Now that is a rather interesting, if somewhat confusing, premise for a book and so I would have wanted to read it anyway, even if it wasn't by my auto-buy author Miss Hoover.