Thursday, 21 August 2014

Films for Thoughts on Thursday: ARCs


This is a weekly meme that I am hosting here at Reviews from a Bookworm. To take part all you have to do is share a movie review once a week, link back to Reviews from a Bookworm and add your link to the linky tool.


I am a very naughty blogger, I don't have a movie to review this week. It's not that I haven't watched any, I have watched quite a few this week. The main issue is that I kind of just watched a ton of Robin Williams movies, and I wasn't compelled to review them. I adore his films, but I wasn't in the mood to watch them for the means of reviewing them. I just wanted to sit back and enjoy them.

I did buy Captain America: The Winter Soldier on DVD and rewatched that. But I have already reviewed it. So you'll have to wait till next week for another movie review. Feel free to link up any of your own films reviews though. 







I have been meaning to take part in both of the following memes for a while now, so its nice to finally be able to get to them. I will be taking part in Reading is Fun Again's Thoughtful Thursday and Okay, Let's Read's  Thursday Thoughts, picking between them or doing both topics each week.


Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs)

Have you ever received an ARC? Did you request it or did they reach out to you? What advice regarding ARCs would you give to bloggers/reviewers who are just starting out? Do you have a preference between physical ARCs and eARCs? Do you have a specific plan or technique you go by in order to stay organised when it comes to reading and reviewing ARCs?


After I download yet another eARC.
They mean eARCs as well as physical ones. I have received both, but have only very recently begun requesting and receiving physical ARCs. I use both Netgalley and Edelweiss to get my eARCs and think they are so easy to use and have amazing selections. I also think they are a very easy way to get ARCs. I have a lot of great luck with those, I usually get accepted for any book I request and I also have auto-approval for all my favourite publishers on Edelweiss. Auto-approval is both a blessing and a curse. If you can just instantly download the book then it's very temping to do so, without even considering whether you really want to read it or not. So that is my first piece of advice, make sure it's a book that you're actually going to take the time to read. Don't just request as many books as you can because if you get accepted for them all then you have a ton of books waiting to be read. I am very guilty of doing this, so I have been trying to get better. I have been downloading and requesting a lot less ARCs on both sites.


But, if you want to see what my outstanding eARCs look like... here's my rather embarrassing shelf on Goodreads.

As you can probably tell from looking at my shelf, I clearly don't have a great plan or technique for getting through my ARCs. This is mostly to do with the fact that I am definitely a mood reader, I can't force myself to reading something if I am not in the mood for it. I did try to be organised. I bought a diary and put the books into it on the days they were due for release. This meant I could see when I needed to have it read and reviewed by. It was a great plan, it just didn't work well.

When I received my finished copy of Heir of Fire. 
I have recently started receiving a few physical ARCs. I haven't requested too many but I am so grateful for all the ones I have received. I find EW and NG easy to use, but I much prefer a phsyical book to an ebook. This is for one simple reason, my eyes really start to hurt and sting when I read on my ereader, but this doesn't happen at all when I read a physical book. I have no clue why or what the huge difference is but it does change my reading experience. I am much better with physical copies, everyone I have received I have then read and reviewed straight away. My favourite thing is that some publishers will send you a finished copy instead of an ARC copy. This means it has the cover and everything. I actually freaked out this week when I was sent a finished copy of Heir of Fire. I was planning on buying it anyway and now I don't have to. 

My main advice to people starting out is to stick to sites like Netgalley and Edelweiss. Physical copies are expensive and it costs a lot for the publisher to send them to you. It's better to wait until you have been blogging for a while, have built up a following and a viewership and then consider requesting physical ARCs if you want to. But Edelweiss and Netgalley are amazing, as I am from the UK it allows me to get copies of books that I wouldn't get because they aren't being published in the UK. For example, HarperTeen don't send ARCs to the UK, so you have to get them online. I also advise only requesting the books you are desperate to read. And don't be disheartened if you don't hear back from a publisher straight away, sometimes it can take a while. 





Dangerous Girls Dangerous Boys

I have read and loved both of Abigail's books, Dangerous Girls & Dangerous Boys. To celebrate the release of Dangerous Boys, I am giving  2 winners the chance to win paperback copies of both Dangerous Boys and Dangerous Girls. It's open internationally, as long as Book Depository ships to you!


Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy, #1)Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy, #1)I also have an ARC copy of Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini to giveaway to one lucky winner. Just be aware that it's an ARC and not a finished copy, so no pretty cover!






Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas: 4.5/5 Review & Giveaway
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Films
My Weekly Book Haul: 16/08/2014
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: 4.5/5 Review
Summer Surge: Challenges
Series: Is The Final Destination What Matters Most?
Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini: 4.5/5 Review and Giveaway






Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini: Review

Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy, #1)Title: Trial by Fire (The World Waker Trilogy #1)
Author: Josephine Angelini
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Buy This Book: Amazon / Book Depository

Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.
This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted...which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily's life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.
Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem - one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily's identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.
Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn't understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can't hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.
But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy? (Goodreads sumary.)


Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy, #1)
US cover
When I finally received my copy.
Trial by Fire first caught my eye when I saw the US cover, before I even realised who wrote it or had read the blurb. It's such an eye-catching design and it works well to show you what the story is about. I was intrigued already, and then I saw that it was the new book in a planned trilogy and it was written by Josephine Angelini. That was the moment that I knew that I just had to read it. Her Goddess series is really great and I find her books so easy to read. I no longer wanted to read this book, I needed to read this book. Thankfully Macmillan are amazing and were willing to let me review the book, and I can't even begin to thank them.

The story doesn't take too long to get into the action, in fact it feels like we get to it almost straight away. We get a little introduction to Lily Proctor and her life in Salem, she's struggling with allergies and she's fallen for her best friend Tristan. An embarrassing incident at a party leaves her wanting to disappear, but she never expects to suddenly appear in a different Salem to her own. A Salem that is ruled by powerful women called Crucibles, a Salem where giant monsters are a constant threat to it's people. This all happens very quickly, it's quite jarring but it works with the story. We spend enough time with Lily at the start to get to know her character a bit before jumping into the action, but it leaves you with a lot to discover.

The best kind!!!
Jumping right into the other Salem is a lot to get used to, you are left feeling a little lost. That's the whole point though, you feel just as lost and confused as Lily does. I felt like I was experiencing everything that she was, which made me connect to her a lot quicker. Lily is a character that surprised me, at first I was certain I wouldn't like her and then suddenly I just couldn't get enough of her. She starts out with a very high and mighty attitude, she's a vegan and even owns a shirt that says 'I'm vegan and yes, that does make me better than you' . From that moment on I was sure that Lily was going to be a character that got on my nerves and one I couldn't like at all. But there's so much to find out about Lily and the type of person she is and she completely redeems herself in my eyes. I loved how strong she was and how she dealt with situations that would have me running in the opposite direction. She's a very strong and determined person, she sticks up for what she believes in and I admired that about her.

Let's be honest, no YA series would be complete without a love interest and, frankly, I'd have been really disappointed if this book didn't have one. I'm quite the sucker for a romance. Rowan was a character that I liked instantly, even though he was ridiculously mean to Lily. I don't even know why I had this instant like for him, I just did. I think it's because I knew there was going to be a lot more to him, I was excited to get to know him and find out about his background.


What impressed me so much about this book is that it doesn't rely on the romance, or make it a big part of the story. It's actually barely a romance in this, it's more about the characters getting to know each other and just like each other in general. There's no insta-love and it sets up the idea of a romance in the next book, I feel that's when that will be given more time. I liked that romance didn't become a huge part of the story, it concentrated on the fantasy elements and I much preferred that. The way the relationship progresses so slowly in this, it reminded me so much of Aria and Perry in Under the Never Sky, which is one of my all time favourite romances in a YA series and one I think is done ridiculously well. I am beyond excited to see how this relationship evolves over the next two books, I feel a new ship being added to my armada.

I like to tell you about the things I liked about a book, as well as the things I didn't. I am so happy to say that Trial by Fire didn't give me too much to grumble about. Maybe I would have liked to learn more about the world, but I never felt like it was lacking in that department. It took me a little while to get into this, but then I just became completely addicted to the story and couldn't put the book down. It was moving at a fast pace, it was hard for me to put this book down because I needed to continue to see what was going to happen. My only true complaint would be the fact it has a cliffhanger ending that has me desperate to get my hands on book two. Seriously, someone invent a time machine so I can go forward in time and read it. Pwetty please?


4.5/5 Butterflies

This one jumped right into the action, which made it a little hard for me to get into. But once I was, I could not get enough of this book and the story. I was so happy to find another fantasy YA that's got me hooked and is making me so eager for the next book. I was impressed by the fact a romance doesn't suddenly become the main storyline, it's always in the background and mostly just the characters getting to know one another. I want to know more about the world, more about the characters and I can't wait to see the romance evolve over the next two books. This feels like a series that is just going to get better, and I am already dying to read book two. I highly recommend to all, but definitely to those looking for a new fantasy series to get into. 



As I now have a finished copy of the book, I am doing a giveaway for my ARC copy. Because of the cost of shipping it, the giveaway is UK only.





*I received a copy of this novel from Macmillan Children's Books in exchange for a free and honest review and received no monetary compensation for this review.


Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Series - Is The Final Destination What Matters Most?



This question has been bugging me for the longest time now. When it comes to a series, is it the final destination or the journey to get there that really matters? Now, what I mean is whether the end of a series matters more than everything that precedes it. Does the ending make or break the series? If a series has been nothing but phenomenal up until the final book, do you then disregard the rest of the series because you weren't satisfied with the conclusion. What's finally got me to write up this post isn't even a book series, it was a couple of lengthy discussions I have had recently about Dexter. 

Dexter proved to me that the ending of a series, whether it be a book, TV show or movie series, can actually make or break it. It can ruin or redeem everything that came before it. A disappointing ending can leave you so disheartened that you just feel bad that you ever made it that far. Or there's the final seasons, book or movie that seems to redeem that series. It blows you away, it connects up things that might not have made sense and it makes you so glad you made it to the end. Then there are those endings that are just mediocre, they weren't bad but they weren't amazing either. 

Are endings the most important thing? You don't want to read a series whose only decent book is the final one. You equally don't want to read a series where the only decent book is the first one. But an ending is still crucial, the ending has to be satisfying otherwise why has the reader bothered to follow the series. In my opinion a series ender either has to be either amazing, good or just okay for it to work. If it's really bad and disappointing then it does ruin the series for me.


Examples (no spoilers)

TV

Ones with series ruining endings:

Dexter, for anyone who doesn't know (everyone does know, right?), is a TV show that was absolutely brilliant. It's main character is a serial killer who only kills bad guy, basically other killers, rapists and so on. It had a genius premise, the characters were brilliant and it was funny even at times when it probably shouldn't have been. You can't help but root for Dexter most of the time, and then feel like you're a bit of a psychopath too. This show hasn't been all shining brilliance though, it's been very up and down. It's had amazing seasons and then really disappointing ones. But overall I had always loved the show and considered it one of my favourites. Until the final season. Fans were very excited to see how it ended, but I don't think anyone was expecting the season that they got. It's one of the worst things I have ever had to make myself watch. Watching the final episode actually made me throw one of my books across the room. My books are my babies, I never throw them. It was such a bad series ending that it actually has ruined the whole series for me. I can't bring myself to rewatch it, knowing what's going to happen. I own every season on DVD, except that final one. And I never will. I was actually shocked how one season had managed to ruin my love for a series that I had followed and loved for eight years.
How I felt at the end of Dexter.

How I Met Your Mother was a series that started really well but, like a lot of series, got worse the longer they dragged it on. You kind of started to have less love for it near the end but your love of certain characters keeps you watching. The last season though, I don't know how that even got made. It was awful. It's the worst TV series ending I have seen since Dexter, it's not as soul-crushingly awful but it is really bad. I finished that season and wondered why I bothered to keep watching after series 5. 


The show that did it right:

Breaking Bad was a show that managed to be almost perfect from beginning right up until the very ending. It has one of the greatest series endings I have ever seen, and I mean the whole season not just the last episode. I think Breaking Bad did such a good job because they had learnt a lesson that other series hadn't. Don't drag a series out just because it's making money. Breaking Bad could have gone on and on and on, people would have watched. But it wouldn't have been as good a story, it probably would have ended badly. 

Sums up all the feels when I watched the last season:


Movies

The ending that ruined the series:

X-Men: Last Stand was just awful, that movie was just not the way that series should have ended. I am so grateful that, once enough time had gone by that we'd forgotten about the awfulness that was X-Men: The Last Stand, they decided to reboot it with a prequel series. I also adored the fact that they used the prequel and the use of time travel to just completely f**k with the that movie.


Shouldn't even have been a series:

Pirates of the Caribbean should have ended at The Curse of the Black Pearl. The second movie wasn't bad, but it wasn't that brilliant either. Then there's the third one, which was just very disappointing and lacked most of the humour that I'd come to expect from the series. And you think that's it, but then they make another one, which really wasn't very good and had the weirdest and most pointless mermaid subplot... ever! And they are still making another one. That shows a series that's only continuing because it makes money. I won't be continuing it, I'll just watch The Black Pearl and cry over the fact they went on to ruin it.


How I feel each time a new Pirates movie is released:


Too good to be ruined by a bad ending:

The Return of the King is an amazing movie, until it gets to the end. It's problem is that there are about a million endings. One thing you need to do when you end a movie is to actually end it, don't end it and then end it again and then again. Just pick one ending and stick to it. What Return of the King has going for it is the fact that every movie was brilliant, practically flawless in fact. One small hiccup of an ending isn't enough to ruin it. We all know it should have ended with the crowning of the King and everyone bowing down in appreciation of the hobbits. That's it, the end. 

My feelings towards Peter Jackson at the end of it:
And then The Hobbit happened...

The last film better save the series:

Desolation of Smaug SUCKED! I hated that film. People actually left the cinema and they didn't come back. Unfortunately I had to sit through it. From the awful introduction of a subplot sort-of-romance between an elf and a dwarf, to the dragon that takes an hour to say one sentence. This is one series that needs an amazing ending to save it. 


My feelings towards Peter Jackson and the Hobbit #3:



Books

How to end a book series:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a lesson to everyone on how to successfully end a series. Everyone had such high expectations for the final book and I don't think anyone was disappointing. J.K. Rowling really did an amazing job with this book. She hits you in all of your feels, makes you sob like a baby and then hate her a little bit. And yet you love her even more for it.

The okay ending:

I honestly thought that Champion was okay, I know a lot of people loved it but for me it was just okay. I think it was just the fact that the end was a bit too soap-opera like in how ridiculous it was. It really was ridiculous. But the majority of the book was solid, and I enjoyed the series overall. 


Worst final book ever:

Allegiant is a hideous book. You should always try to be fair when reviewing a book, and try not to be too harsh... unless that book is Allegiant. I still can't comprehend how that book even got published. I get annoyed by people who go on and on about the ending of that book. I didn't even care by the end. Why are they forgetting everything that came before the end? The whole book was bad. It was badly plotted and had a lot of pacing issues. It had a new POV introduced that was just identical to Tris's. It just reused the same storyline from a previous book, changing nothing but the fighting groups. I don't want to bore you with all the reasons that Allegiant is the most disappointing and series ruining book in the world. You can just check out my spoiler-filled or spoiler-free review for all the details. 

My thoughts exactly!

Allegiant and Dexter were definitely the two finales of series that showed me the importance of a good ending. Both of those actually ruined the whole series for me. Why would I want to watch or reread either when I know how they end? I could always stop before the end but then what's the point of reading it at all. I know the ending of the boo isn't the only thing that matters, but it's still very important. For me the ending needs to be amazing, satisfying or at least okay. Anything less and you are just left disappointed and wondering why you bothered with the series to begin with.

Do you have any examples of last books/movies/seasons that made a series for you? Do you have any that actually completely ruined the series for you? 





I have read and loved both of Abigail's books, Dangerous Girls & Dangerous Boys. To celebrate the release of Dangerous Boys, I am giving 1 winner the chance to win paperback copies of both Dangerous Boys and Dangerous Girls. It's open internationally, as long as Book Depository ships to you!








Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Guardians of the Galaxy 7/10 Review
Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas: 4.5/5 Review & Giveaway
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Films
My Weekly Book Haul: 16/08/2014
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: 4.5/5 Review
Summer Surge: Challenges




Monday, 18 August 2014

Summer Surge: Challenges

The Summer Surge Read-A-Thon is being run over at Book Badger. It's got interviews with other bloggers, readalongs, challenges and giveaways.


I am going to attempt to do more than one challenge in this, seeing as I am really behind!




Spine Poetry

I found this one so unbelievably diffifcult. Stacie gave me a ton of inspiration, but it's still taken me forever to even attempt it. And even then, I have probably done it wrong, haha!

It's an ugly love,
You're a cruel beauty.
I'm so far from you.



Character Personality


Pick 5 characters from books you have read in 2014 that each reflect an area of your personality. WOW! This one was ridiculously hard for me, but I think I have it covered.


Caymen Meyers from The Distance Between Us

I loved this character, and I saw a lot of myself in her too. Mainly her ridiculously sarcastic and dry sense of humour. I loved her banter with Xander and their brilliant back and forth. Her humour was so similar, if not identical, to my own that I could not get enough of it. She was so easy to relate to, I definitely saw a lot of myself in her.

Charlie Reynolds from On The Fence

Apparently Kasie West knows how to write characters that I see myself in. Charlie was a tomboy, I was definitely  huge tomboy when I was a child and very much so in my early teen years. I loved watching Charlie discover make-up and dresses and skirts, I went through the exact same thing. I was also completely useless at it, and still am. She also preferred the company of guys and had more guy friends, which is true for me as well.

Celaena Sardothian from The Throne of Glass series

That's right people, I am a hardcore, dangerous assassin. I kid, I kid. Or do I? So, I might have the upper body strength of a two year old, but I definitely saw some of myself in Celaena. Mostly her love of sweets and reading. And her temper! Don't mess with me when I am angry, I might be capable of turning into an assassin then.


She's really shy and terrible about telling people how she really feels - so me. She's not even able to admit any of her crushes out loud, just pens all her feelings into letters that she never sends. 

Lord Voldemort from the Harry Potter series

I'm totally going to be the Lord Voldemort of the library world. After my hideous, awful and unbelievably stressful day at work yesterday, I can totally relate to all his anger towards large amounts of the human population and wanting to destroy them all. Stupid people who ruin my day... watch out, I'm coming for you!




Follow That Title

I had to pick one word from the list that Amanda listed and find a book I read in the last 12 months with that title. I then had to find another book with at least one of the words from the first title in it, and have at least one word different.

Dangerous Girls
Dangerous Boys
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
The Truth About Alice
All The Truth That's In Me
Where You'll Find Me

I think I might have even done this one wrong, but it's now 1:00 and it's taken me forever just to get that done. Fingers crossed!



I have read and loved both of Abigail's books, Dangerous Girls & Dangerous Boys. To celebrate the release of Dangerous Boys, I am giving 1 winner the chance to win paperback copies of both Dangerous Boys and Dangerous Girls. It's open internationally, as long as Book Depository ships to you!







Top Ten Tuesday: Books I'm Not Sure I Want To Read
Boomerang by Noelle August: 4/5 Review
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Guardians of the Galaxy 7/10 Review
Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas: 4.5/5 Review & Giveaway
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Films
My Weekly Book Haul: 16/08/2014
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: 4.5/5 Review


Sunday, 17 August 2014

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover: Review

Ugly LoveTitle: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Atria Books
Buy This Book: Amazon / Book Depository

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn't even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn't want love, she doesn't have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.
Never ask about the past. 
Don't expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can't handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated. 
Promises get broken. 

Rules get shattered.

Love gets ugly. (Goodreads summary.)


Colleen Hoover's books have never disappointed me, I have enjoyed every one that I have read. But, earlier this year, I read Maybe Someday and it was just such an amazing reading experience, one of the greatest ones I have ever had. It came with it's own soundtrack, the characters were brilliant and the story worked so well. When I saw she had another book coming out this year I got very excited, I knew I had to buy it. At the same time I was worried that it might disappoint me, after having such a brilliant reading experience with Maybe Someday. I'd also seen her comments about the fact this one would be much more sex-filled than her other books. I was intrigued by the idea that it would contain a lot more sex than her other books, something that's always taken a back seat in her other books. Ugly Love is the story of two people who agree to have a no strings attached relationship, it's just friends with benefits. So you already know what you're getting in for there.

Tate Collins is on the hunt for a new job when she moves in with her brother. On the way into her brother's flat, she finds a drunk guy slumped against his front door. Rightfully alarmed she rings her brother to ask his advice, only to realise the guy is her new neighbour and her brother wants her to help him inside. This is how Tate first meets Miles Archer, a pilot who has ten too many issues. They share an attraction to each other, but Miles is determined that he does not and will not get into a relationship with Tate. He doesn't do love. Tate agrees to a no strings attached, just sex relationship with him. But it's never as easy as it sounds, especially when Miles demands that she never ask about his past and she never expects a future.

All you need to do is watch Friends with Benefits or No Strings Attached and they will basically tell you the rule of the friends with benefits situation. It never works. Maybe it might in real life, but in fiction and in movies it never works. Feelings get involved and the stories all end up the same. I knew what the end result of Ugly Love would be, I didn't need to read it for that because I was so sure of what the outcome would be. I was more interested in the journey it would take to get there.

I have to say that when I reached the end of Ugly Love I knew I wanted to give it at least a 4.5/5. It was a brilliant book, I was as engrossed as I always am with Colleen's books. But, I had quite a few issues with the book and so I was really happy that my overall feelings for it were ridiculously positive! I want to start my review by mentioning the few issues that I had, that way I can end the review with all of the positives.

The Bad


My main issue with the book, and I think quite a few others had the same problem, was Miles' POV. I absolutely hated it. I'm really sorry, but I just could barely deal with his chapters. Now Tate's chapters are set in the present, so we see her relationship with Miles develop through her eyes. But Miles chapters are all from 6 years previous, they slowly begin to unveil what happened to him to make him so determined to never fall in love. His chapters show how the first time he fell in love, with a girl called Rachel. Now, I really thought I'd love his chapters because you really are just dying to know what happened to him. But his chapters are just set out and written in such a way that I honestly couldn't stand them.

It's set out like the slam poems from Slammed, but what he's saying is not poetry. Maybe he thinks he sounds like a poet, but he just comes across as a bit of a freak and it's rather uncomfortable to read. I shall give you some quotes so you can understand my pain.

'My skin feels better with her touching it. My hair feels better with her hands in it. My mouth feels better with her tongue inside it.'

'My new favourite flavour is Rachel.
My new favourite thing is Rachel.
I want Rachel for my birthday. I want Rachel for Christmas. I want Rachel for graduation.
Rachel, Rachel, Rachel'


Eurgh, please stop talking about Rachel. It's creepy. He also basically falls head over heels in love with her from the very minute he sets eyes on her. He declares she's going to have his babies and everything. It's just really off-putting to read, it made his character very unattractive to me. Pair that with the fact he's now really  emotionally distant and, frankly, a dick to Tate most of the time, and it's really hard to like the guy. 

My other issue was how big of a deal is made over the fact that two people, who's parents start dating, are also dating. They have to hide it from their parents and everything, because they'd be really angry otherwise. Why? In the Hoover discussion groups, I've seen a ton of people commenting on how the relationship was creepy, weird, uncomfortable and everything else. One person even, stupidly, brought up the word incest. They're not related. They didn't grow up together. It's not weird. It's not creepy. It's 100% not incest and I don't see what the big deal is.


I also struggled with the idea that Miles hadn't so much as kissed another human being in six years. Who has that kind of restraint? When I read that, I laughed. I didn't even care about what big reveal was to come, it just didn't seem believable to me. Even after the reveal it doesn't seem very believable. As you can see, my main issue with the book was Miles. He was a bit of a mega douche at times. I also have to comment on the fact that at one point Miles says something about not wanting to quit her and I was all really, what is this, Brokeback Mountain?

The Good


But... There are lots of buts, so please don't be put off by all all that comes above it. You could even have just skipped that part in order to get to the good bit. I have to beg you all not to be put off by my issues. I am still giving this book a 4.5/5. I am just a horribly honest person and can't write a gushy review for the book when I had obvious problems with it, instead I must share them all with you. I have a problem, I know.

There are so many positives with the book. The first is the fact that, like all her books, I could not put this one down. I just had to keep on reading and reading, until I was done. I even ignored my adorable kitten for hours, and that is unheard of. Hoover's books just have this addictive quality, I can't quite put my finger on what it is. The dialogue just feels real and easy, like the characters and it all just flows. But once you start, you're done for because you're unable to stop. She is able to make you laugh, cry, feel utter despair and all the happy feels within a small number of pages.

Tate was a plus for me. I thought I would find her annoying, I assumed this before I even started the book. But I actually really liked her character, because she was an idiot but she was well aware of the fact. From the very beginning she's acutely aware of the fact that she won't be able to do just sex, no feelings. She's aware of it, she's aware she's an idiot for agreeing to it, but she does it anyway. I liked her because she was knew she was making a mistake, and she completely owns it. But she also owns the fact that she's attracted to Miles and is willing to take whatever she can get from him.

The sex. I am not a huge fan of my books having large amounts of sex scenes in them, probably why I read a lot of young adult. I was a little apprehensive that I wouldn't like all the sex in this, but I should have trusted Hoover. She knows how to write sex scenes, they don't come off all sounding the exact same. They're also a lot more realistic than most of the sex scenes I have come across in New Adult. I also appreciated how most of them contained a lot of humour, I much prefer the playful, funny sex scenes. And it doesn't go all Fifty Shades on us, which is a bonus. I didn't get sick of the sex scenes at all, Colleen Hoover did a brilliant job.


4.5/5 Butterflies

I just adore Colleen Hoover and her books, her books are filled with as much humour as she exhibits in all her social media posts. She writes funny characters, most of them are just far too easy to relate to. She writes the kind of books that are just impossible to read, they are books you want to get through in one sitting. She handles sex so well in her books, I didn't get sick of the sex scenes in this book, which is something that usually happens in a book that has a lot of them. This is a book that I know has made a ton of people cry, but I was immune. Much like TFIOS, it seems like everyone else sobbed like a baby and I was there, being all emotionless. So I'd probably warn you to come prepared with tissues. And I'd also urge you to get through the Miles chapters. They're annoying as hell but they are vital to the story, you need to understand Miles's past to understand who he is in the present day. I always feel like I could recommend Hoover's books to most people. They're great if your a fan of new adult, great if your a fan of romance or the perfect way to introduce yourself to the NA genre. Hoover has definitely earned a spot on my auto-buy list, I'm already eyeing up her next two books on Goodreads. Bring on 2015!