Wednesday, 22 October 2014

The Maze Runner by James Dashner: Review

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)Title: The Maze Runner
Author: James Dashner
Publisher: Chicken House
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Everything is going to change.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
Remember. Survive. Run



Warning: This is more rant than review. I couldn't help myself. If you like the book then it's probably best to just click off this review right now. It's not going to be pretty. 

My feelings in one gif:

I first wrote my straight after finishing the book, which was a mistake. It was 100% more rant than review, which is never a good thing. So I have tried to tone it down a little. But, if you follow the blog at all, you'll know that I don't really hold back when I review books. If I love it then I am going to full on gush, if I hate it then I am going to full on rant.

Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: New Series I Want To Start

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke & The Bookish. Each week they host a different top ten topic.

This weeks topic is:

Top New Series I Want To Start


These are all series that started in 2013/14 or will start next year. I am pretty behind on series, which is why a lot of these already have sequels out or planned sequels. A Court of Thorns and Roses is the series I am the most excited for! It's written by Sarah J. Maas and I really don't need to know anything else about it to know that I want to read it. Snow Like Ashes is one I have been getting more and more excited for, have been seeing so many amazing reviews for it. Steelheart is one a guy at work recommends to me all of the time, so I feel I should finally cave and read that one. I own quite a lot of these, so I should really hurry myself up and get to them. 


In my blogoversary post I posted my giveaway to celebrate 1 year of blogging. I am giving one winner the chance to win up to £40 worth of books of their choice from Book Depository. I am also giving one runner up a book of their choice, worth up to £10 from Book Depository.





In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis: 4/5 Review
Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews: 3/5 Review
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: The Riot Club
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Book Cover Typography
My Weekly Book Haul: 18/10/2014
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: 2/5 Review


Sunday, 19 October 2014

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: Review

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)Title: Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1)
Author: Robin LaFevers
Publisher: Anderson Press
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?
Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.
Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart? (Goodreads summary.)

I must start this review with a warning to all those who are brave enough to read it. This is not a positive review in any way, shape or form. Sometimes I'll read a book and won't enjoy it, but I'm able to right a more balanced review that shows why I didn't like it but positive things about it too. Grave Mercy is not one of those books for me. This is a book where I finished it and felt nothing but pure rage, mostly at myself, for the fact I had wasted hours of my life reading it. I had anger at the hype, anger at the glowing reviews, anger at the gorgeous cover and anger over the amazing sounding premise. This book did not deliver what I was promised and I am not happy about it. So, get ready, the rant is about to begin.

Adequately describes how I am feeling right now!

This book had so much promise and I had such high hopes for it. The reviews are glowing and I've lost count of the number of times this has been recommended to me. Maybe the hype was too much or my expectations were too high. Or maybe it's just that this isn't that great a book. Whatever the case, I can say with all certainty that it was not for me. How can that be when it's a book about assassin nuns?!? You heard right, ASSASSIN NUNS! How is that not the recipe for the most wonderful, amazing, entertaining read ever?

Saturday, 18 October 2014

My Weekly Book Haul: 18/10/2014

STSmall

Friday Finds is something that was started over on ShouldBeReading and Stacking the Shelves over at TyngaReviews, I am in love with all of these as I love finding other blogs to follow and books to read through these! So check them all out and see what you find, Stacking the Shelves has a lot of participants as well which is great. This is basically a way for me to show what books I have received, borrowed or bought each week. All book covers and their summary come from back of book or Goodreads.

This week started well, went bad once I had to work and then the last two days have been really good. Books wise I have actually read some really disappointing reads. I didn't enjoy The Maze Runner at all, it's really poorly written and had some really big plot holes that were hard to get past. I also read Love, Rosie because I wanted to see the film and that was bad too, it was really unromantic and entirely frustrating. Thankfully I ended this week reading All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, which is due out in January, and it was an amazing book. It was beautiful, raw and heartbreaking and just so good.
I also joined Instagram and I've become a little addicted, it's just so much fun and simple to use. I actually think I prefer it to Twitter or Facebook. If you've got Instagram and want to add me then you can find me here:  Instagram.
My family and I are going to the Harry Potter Studio Tour at Christmas. It's my second time going and I am more prepared this time. I have asked my parents and boyfriend to hold off on the Christmas gift buying because I want to get stuff at the tour. There's eight of us going and it's going to be a lot of fun. 



Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone GirlOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife's head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media--as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents--the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter--but is he really a killer? 
As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn't do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

Seeing the movie has made me really want to reread the book.

Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

I haven't started the first book yet, so I am not going to put the synopsis down in case it spoils anything for me. I seem certain that I am going to love this one because I have bought all three of the books. 


Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant, #1) Playing with Fire (Skulduggery Pleasant, #2) The Faceless Ones (Skulduggery Pleasant, #3) Dark Days (Skulduggery Pleasant, #4)
Mortal Coil (Skulduggery Pleasant, #5) Death Bringer (Skulduggery Pleasant, #6) Kingdom of the Wicked (Skulduggery Pleasant, #7) Last Stand of Dead Men (Skulduggery Pleasant, #8)
Skulduggery Pleasant #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #7.5, #8 & #8.5 by Derek Landy

Stephanie's uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn't fiction. Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source - the wisecracking skeleton of a dead wizard.

I got to go on relief to another library branch on Monday and finally found the first book in this series. Seeing as Amanda (from Book Badger) loves this series, I thought it was time I give it a go. I have the last book in the series waiting for me at work when I go back. Now let's hope I enjoy the first book, otherwise I carried them all home for nothing. 

Heist Society (Heist Society, #1) Heist Society: Uncommon Criminals Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society, #3)

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her on a trip to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.
Soon, Kat's friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring Kat back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has a good reason: a powerful mobster has been robbed of his priceless art collection and wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat's father isn't just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.
For Kat, there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it's a spectacularly impossible job? She's got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family's history--and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.

I've read the first two and enjoyed them both, I think they each got 3/5 stars from me. I want to continue it but will definitely need a reread of it. I plan to have a big Ally Carter binge at some point, including the Gallagher Girls series. 



I entered a Bloomsbury giveaway on Facebook and was really surprised when I won. I was even more surprised when the package was delivered the next day. It's a mix of different books released from their children's books this October. Some of these will be used as Christmas gifts for my baby second cousin, some are going to work and there are a few that I am excited to read myself. The main two being the following:

A Breath of Frost (The Lovegrove Legacy, #1) Whisper the Dead (The Lovegrove Legacy, #2)
A Breath of Frost and Whisper the Dead by Alyxandra Harvey

Emma Day and her two cousins, Gretchen and Penelope, are uninterested in their debutante lives. All the boring balls, tiresome curtsying and polite conversation leave much to be desired. Then a girl is found dead, frost clinging to her lifeless body, and the murder is traced to Emma. As their world is turned upside down, Emma discovers more about herself and her cousins, from her connection to the murders to the secrets of her family legacy. Now the girls must embrace their true Lovegrove inheritance in order to stop the chaos, even if that means risking their lives. Dangerously handsome Cormac Fairfax wants to help Emma – but, with secrets of his own to hide, can she trust him?

Clariel (Abhorsen, #4)
Clariel by Garth Nix

Sixteen-year-old Clariel is not adjusting well to her new life in the city of Belisaere, the capital of the Old Kingdom. She misses roaming freely within the forests of Estwael, and she feels trapped within the stone city walls. And in Belisaere she is forced to follow the plans, plots and demands of everyone, from her parents to her maid, to the sinister Guildmaster Kilip. Clariel can see her freedom slipping away. It seems too that the city itself is descending into chaos, as the ancient rules binding Abhorsen, King and Clayr appear to be disintegrating.
With the discovery of a dangerous Free Magic creature loose in the city, Clariel is given the chance both to prove her worth and make her escape. But events spin rapidly out of control. Clariel finds herself more trapped than ever, until help comes from an unlikely source. But the help comes at a terrible cost. Clariel must question the motivations and secret hearts of everyone around her - and it is herself she must question most of all.

I won an ARC from Books and Books. I can't even remember entering it, seeing as I have an ARC from YALC. I'll probably just end up giving it away myself. 



Captive (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #2)
Captive by Aimee Carter

For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her frustration grows as her trust in her fake fiancĂ© cracks, her real boyfriend is forbidden and the Blackcoats keep her in the dark more than ever. 
But in the midst of discovering that her role in the Hart family may not be as coincidental as she thought, she's accused of treason and is forced to face her greatest fear: Elsewhere. A prison where no one can escape. 
As one shocking revelation leads to the next, Kitty learns the hard way that she can trust no one, not even the people she thought were on her side. With her back against the wall, Kitty wants to believe she'll do whatever it takes to support the rebellion she believes in—but is she prepared to pay the ultimate price?

I enjoyed the first book in this series, despite my issues with it. I saw the sequel on Netgalley and decided I wanted to see what happens next in the series.

Famous in Love
Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle

She fell in love with him in the books - now she has the chance to star opposite him in the film . . .
Paige doesn't think she's particularly special, but after getting the starring role in a massive film adaptation of the bestselling Locked trilogy, the rest of the world would disagree. Now she's thrown into the spotlight, and into a world of gossip, rumour and deceit. The only people who know what she's going through are her two male co-stars, and they can't stand the sight of each other. Paige knows it's a mistake to fall in love on the set of a movie, but days of on-screen romance and intensity start to change her mind. The question is, can she keep what happens behind the scenes a secret when the world is watching her every move?

I don't even know why I downloaded this one, I can already tell I'm probably going to hate it. 



In my blogoversary post I posted my giveaway to celebrate 1 year of blogging. I am giving one winner the chance to win up to £40 worth of books of their choice from Book Depository. I am also giving one runner up a book of their choice, worth up to £10 from Book Depository.





Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Finale
My Weekly Book Haul: 11/10/2014
In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis: 4/5 Review
Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews: 3/5 Review
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: The Riot Club
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Book Cover Typography


Friday, 17 October 2014

Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Book Cover Typography


Five Friday Favourites is a weekly event hosted by Book Badger, where once a week, a five favourites subject is posted and everyone is welcome to join in. You can find out more about Five Friday Favourites and the future subjects here.


Favourite Book Cover Typography


Oooooh, good topic! I realise that typography on book covers is really important to me, but I don't feel like I realise I pay such close attention to it. But typography can actually make or break a book cover. A pretty cover can be ruined by really bad typography or one that just doesn't match up to the rest of the cover. I'm just going to go with typography on books I own.


Harry Potter

It makes me laugh that I am picking Harry Potter again. I picked all HP scenes for my FFF a few weeks ago, and Amanda told me I'd get past the series one day. Well, I'm currently writing this post as I lounge around in my Harry Potter Hogwarts pyjama top. So that day won't be any day soon.
           The Harry Potter typography isn't the most gorgeous typography, but it's the most recognisable for me. You change the words and put it on another book and I'd know it's the Harry Potter typography. I absolutely love my new Harry Potter editions but I honestly miss the old typography! 

Shadow & Bone
Throne of Glass
Under the Never Sky
Red Rising


THEY'RE ALL SO PRETTY!

I feel like I should probably have more to say than that, but I really don't. They're all gorgeous and I like them. They are pleasing to my eyes! Especially the Grisha series typography!




In my blogoversary post I posted my giveaway to celebrate 1 year of blogging. I am giving one winner the chance to win up to £40 worth of books of their choice from Book Depository. I am also giving one runner up a book of their choice, worth up to £10 from Book Depository.





Films for Thoughts on Thursday: Gone Girl
Five Friday Favourites: Favourite Finale
My Weekly Book Haul: 11/10/2014
In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis: 4/5 Review
Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews: 3/5 Review
Films for Thoughts on Thursday: The Riot Club