Saturday, 30 January 2016

Weekly Recap: I Read & I Rant


Hey, look at me, still going strong with this old blogging thing! I am so happy to be back and blogging more regularly, I had really missed it. I have really loved getting post scheduled and ready to post. These last two weeks have just been me trying to keep up to date with all my reading and reviewing. I have also gotten back into Instagram, and I might be a little bit addicted. I just love taking bookish pictures.

This week I also posted my first rant post in forever, which all stemmed from the discussion that was going on over Jennifer Niven's new book, Holding Up the Universe. I actually had far too much fun writing it, because I really do love a good rant. It's very therapeutic and helps to get all my feelings out over it. And the response to it was wonderful, so far no one has tried to kill me! 

I've also been having a mini panic about wedding plans. Now that I'm engaged, people keep asking me about the wedding. I don't know what that's a surprise for me, haha! I kind of plan for a long engagement, as we want to save for a house before a wedding - £60,000 deposits are hard to come by! My issue is that the idea of planning the wedding and the wedding itself makes me feel sick. And not because I don't want to get married. That bit I am cool about. But it's like I've only just realised that weddings involve getting up and speaking in front of a large group of people. I have anxiety... that is basically my worst nightmare. So now I want to plan a very small ceremony and dinner, then have everyone for the reception. Only problem is that I know family will get all offended. But, screw it, it's my wedding and I'll do what I want. Anybody else with anxiety out there who got married? How bad was the being in front of people part?


Wednesday, 27 January 2016

Rating a Book Before You've Read It: A RANT!



I usually don't get involved in book related drama, if I am being honest. Usually I just can't be bothered, as I have far more important things to worry about. But, today I am changing that because I'm genuinely annoyed/pissed off/raging/fucking fuming - pick your favourite - and need to rant a bit. 

I am not a person who rates books I haven't read. I don't do it. If I haven't read the book then I don't want to rate it, as my rating means nothing! I don't feel I can judge the book if I haven't read it. Today, my anger reached the point where I knew I wanted to write a post about it. And this post has to do with the new novel by Jennifer Niven, Holding Up the Universe, due out in October 2016. 

Tuesday, 26 January 2016

Non-Book Romances That Need A Book Adaptation



It's time for Top Ten Tuesday and this week is FREEBIE week, which means you can choose to talk about whatever you want. I really want to discuss the non-book romances I love, the ones I really wish I could read about in book form. I couldn't come up with ten, so I have stuck to five.

Jim & Pam: The Office

These two are quite honestly my ultimate OTP, other than Hermione and Ron. Plus they are real life relationship goals. Their romance on The Office was my favourite thing about the show, they were just too fucking adorable. I'd want their story right from the very beginning, the first time that they meet and all the way up to marriage and babies! We could have the dual POV, see them fall slowly in love with each other. Then we have Pam dealing with her feelings for Jim, whilst being engaged to Roy. Not to mention that Casino Night kiss. And then we would have all the absolutely hilarious characters in The Office. I mean, come on, Dwight in book form! I NEED THIS!

Saturday, 23 January 2016

Mini-Reviews: All the Rage, More of Me, Fans of the Impossible Life & More



It's time for me to do some mini-reviews! The amount of book reviews that I need to write is slowly but surely reaching a number that is so epic, it is hard to even think about it. The best course of action for me is to write some mini-reviews, rather than trying to find space on the schedule for 1200 book reviews. The following mini-reviews are all for the wonderful books I received for review from lovereading4kids. I have been so impressed by my recent reads by them, I have had none recently that were lower than 4 star reads. I have been having a great start to my 2016 reading year, it makes me a little nervous as I really want this to continue. 



Title: All the Rage
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository
Kellan Turner is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. But when she speaks up, she is branded a liar. Telling the truth has cost her everything, because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town.But when news of Kellan assaulting another girl gets out, the cost of staying silent might be more than Romy can bear.All The Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women in a culture that refuses to protect them.

I don't believe in forgiveness. I think if you hurt someone, it becomes part of you both. Each of you just has to live with it and the person you hurt gets to decide if they want to give you the chance to do it again. If they do and you're a good person, you won't make the same mistakes. Just whole new ones.
Courtney Summers delivers something truly spectacular with All the Rage, I was so beyond impressed with this novel. This is a novel that really doesn't hold back, it takes an honest and very raw approach to a very serious subject - rape. This is a subject that it's so vital for us to be able to talk about, but it's one that so many find difficult to do. All the Rage was beautiful and moving, the kind of book I am not going to easily forget. I think this is a book that will be held in high regard, one that will hopefully receive as much praise and awards as similar books, like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.
He only said it to remind me that he's here, he likes me. That he's nice. Leon is nice. That doesn't mean he's safe.
makeup chanel red lips red nails

Wednesday, 20 January 2016

Half Bad Trilogy: Witches, Magic and Romance!

Title: Half Bad
Author: Sally Green
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository
Wanted by no one.Hunted by everyone.Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world's most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan's only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it's too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?
I read Half Bad for the first time early last year and I instantly fell in love with the series. This is a book that is set in our world, but witches live amongst us - but, of course, us mere mortals are totally oblivious to the fact they exist. I loved Sally Green's unique writing style, and how she switched between second and third person.

Saturday, 16 January 2016

Weekly Recap: I'm Drowning in ARCs!


I am rather proud of myself. I said I would come back to blogging and so far I am actually sticking to it. I have wrote a bunch of posts, replied to over 300 comments and visited a bunch of my favourite blogs. It feels nice to be back and blogging again. I really hope I stick to this, my aim is to post at least 3 times a week, and I managed 4 last week so that's good.

This week has mostly just been me working. I can tell I am back at work and also blogging again, my reading it taking a massive hit because of it. Although, to be fair, I am already seven books ahead on my reading goal. That was thanks to having the first week of January off work. Christmas stole all my money as I have so many people to buy for, that has meant 0 money in January to buy any books. That is most definitely a good thing as my seven bookshelves are full and my floor is covered in books I need to find space for!

This week I have reread the first two books in the Half Bad series and am just about to finish Half Wild.... IT IS AMAZING!!! My shipper heart is going to die of happiness. And now I am even more excited for whatever Sally Green does next.

The haul this week is the other half of the huge eARC haul that I got in the last month. It is massive and the books are all so awesome and I just want all the time so I can get to them all. Why do I have to be a grown up, and work, and pay bills?!? Boooooo!


Friday, 15 January 2016

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan: Norse Mythology is AWESOME!

Title: Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer
Author: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Puffin
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository
Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother's mysterious death, he's lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he's never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision. Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .
When I tell people I haven't
read Percy Jackson
I want to start my review by confessing that I have yet to finish the Percy Jackson series. I know, this might seem sacrilegious to some of you lovely bloggers. I read the first two but then didn't continue, but it is something I do want to do. I enjoyed the characters and the humour in the first two books but. the books felt very middle grade and I sometimes struggle with that. The main problem was that they were a little too predictable and felt a bit too young. I know I need to continue the series because, much like Harry Potter, the characters age as they go along and so will the story. Plus, as Sword of Summer has proven to me, Rick Riordan is one talented author. I really want to finish the PJ series so I can get to the Heroes of Olympus series, I really think that series will work for me a lot better.

I was actually very eager to start Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, as the characters were starting off a lot older and it just felt like it was aimed at young adults. I finally felt I could jump straight into a Rick Riordan book and just love it, without pushing through just waiting for later books. I suddenly understood why people rave about Rick Riordan and his writing and this book has made me determined to devour everything else he writes. I read this book all the way back in July last year, but never managed to get my review together. It's time to change that. I want to take an opportunity to gush about his witty, memorable characters and action-packed, fast paced writing.

Tuesday, 12 January 2016

HELP! What Book Do I Read Next?


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke & The Bookish.

This weeks topic is:

2015 Releases I Still Need To Get To

I like this weeks topic because it gives me the opportunity to hold a poll. I have so many 2015 releases that I still need to get to and haven't yet. It's actually hard to just pick ten of them, as I have so many that I really need to hurry up and read. I always suck at deciding which one to get to next, so hopefully holding a poll means you guys can decide for me. 

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman and Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Legacy of Kings is a book that I have actually seen a very mixed bunch of reviews for, but I recently got it for Christmas and want to take the time to read it. It mixes fantasy and real aspects of history and the premise just sounds so good. I am really hoping I enjoy this one. I also have to get to Their Fracture Light and see how that series ends. I will just have to reread the first two before I can, as I forget details. I loved book one, but enjoyed book two a little less and hope the third one is a great conclusion to the series. 

Monday, 11 January 2016

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton: Arabian Nights + Western = PERFECTION

Title: Rebel of the Sands
Author: Alwyn Hamilton
Publisher: Penguin
Buy this book: Amazon / Book Depository
She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands. Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there's nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can't wait to escape from. Destined to wind up "wed or dead," Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she'd gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan's army, with a fugitive who's wanted for treason. And she'd never have predicted she'd fall in love with him...or that he'd help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.
Quite honestly I would have to describe Rebel of the Sands as absolute perfection. I loved this book from beginning to end, and finishing it made me sad because I didn't want to leave the world or the characters. I will eagerly be awaiting the next book in the series, but also know that I will read whatever Alwyn Hamilton writes in the future. That woman really knows how to weave a story, and she definitely knows how to write the perfect slow build romance - my favourite kind. If this book isn't on your radar yet then it really needs to be.

Saturday, 9 January 2016

Weekly Recap: I'm Dying, But At Least I Have ALL The Books


I've not been up to much in the last week. I was supposed to go back to work after my two weeks off, but ended up having this whole week off sick. I came down with a cold around Christmas day, but that slowly progressed to laryngitis and a chest infection, which meant a trip to the doctors and now I am on a course of antibiotics. I have been taking the antibiotics for four days and am yet to feel better, which really sucks. No matter what, I'll be returning to work on Monday after three weeks off. I am going to struggle getting up early every morning now, but I'll have to get used to it.

The one good thing about being sick is the fact I have had more time to read and blog. That's how I have managed to get a few more posts scheduled, get 3 books ahead of my GR schedule and visit some of my favourite blogs. Hopefully this progress will continue throughout 2016, where I hope to post at least three times a week.

My haul this week is really large, and the worst part is that I had to actually cut it in half and put the others in next weeks. The reason it is so large is because I forgot to include any of my recent eARCs in my December haul. I always fail at that because I just forget them because they are all stored on my Kindle. I only seem to remember all the physical beauties that I get. So this time it is time to include all the eARCs.


Thursday, 7 January 2016

The Martian by Andy Weir: Out of This World and Absolutely Hilarious

Title: The Martian
Author: Andy Weir
Publisher: Del Rey 
BUY THIS BOOK!!!: Amazon / Book Depository 
I'm stranded on Mars.
I have no way to communicate with Earth.
I'm in a Habitat designed to last 31 days.
If the Oygenator breaks down, I'll suffocate. If the Water Reclaimer breaks downs, I'll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I'll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I'll eventually run out of food and starve to death.
So yeah, I'm screwed.
 

I am just going to put this out there: The Martian was my top read of 2015. Yes, an adult fiction, sci-fi book topped my favourites list. This is coming from someone who almost reads exclusively YA now. But this book deserves every single ounce of praise being awarded to it. If you're someone who only reads YA, or isn't a fan of sci-fi, or just hasn't really considered reading this book: change your mind! I honestly don't feel like you will regret it. I started this feeling a little nervous, I thought all the detailed space talk and equations would either go over my head or bore me to tears. I was worried this would be a book that I would struggle to get through. I was proved oh so very wrong. I could not put this book down, I was absolutely hooked to it and realised quite quickly that I had not only discovered a new favourite book, but also a favourite male protagonist. If you want more reasons you should pick it up then feel free to continue reading this review. But I will provide a quick list of reasons why you should just drop everything and go read it right now:

Tuesday, 5 January 2016

2015 End of Year Book Survey




Wow, it is that time of year once again. It is time to take a look back on my year in books. I love being able to do this on Goodreads, but I really love taking part in the End of Year Book Survery hosted over on the Perpetual Page Turner. I really can't wait to look back on all the wonderful, and not so wonderful, reads that I have had this year. It's also a chance to look back on my year of blogging which, if I'm honest, hasn't really been that busy as I have been on a break for most of it! 









Number of books read:

136

I am really pleased with this, especially considering I was only hoping to manage 100. I even managed to read more than last year, which is probably due to blogging a lot less. 


Number of re-reads:

14

I am quite happy that I actually got quit a few rereads in. I made a last minute decision a few days ago to start rereading HP, which I am currently doing. I also reread lots of books in series in order to read the next one. Also did a few rereads of Colleen Hoover books. 


Genre you read the most from:

I'm not too sure but I'd probably say it would end up being fantasy or contemporary, I devoured a lot of books from both those genres. 

Saturday, 2 January 2016

Weekly Recap: An Engagement, Christmas & ALL THE BOOKS!


Now let's be honest, this isn't really a weekly recap. This is going to basically me recapping the last couple of months, as I have been the worst blogger in 2015 and barely blogged at all. It's a new year now though, so it is time for me to get back on top of blogging and try a little harder. And the best way to start seems to be recapping the last few months, which have been very eventful. And then sharing my latest book haul, which has built up very quickly.

My last recap was all the way back on Halloween, so I have two months to catch up on. This is going to be a longer post than usual as I want to go into detail on things. So feel free to skip ahead to the haul if you have absolutely zero interest in the personal! I think the most important thing to tell you all is... I'm engaged!